IPL Full Form: IPL History, Rules, Records and More!

IPL is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India that has taken the cricketing world by storm since its inception in 2008. The IPL has become one of the most-watched cricket leagues globally, attracting top players from around the world and creating a platform for young and talented cricketers to showcase their skills.

In this article, we will provide you with a comprehensive guide to the IPL Full Form and all you need to know about this exciting league.


History of the IPL

The IPL was founded by the BCCI in 2007 and has grown in popularity ever since. The inaugural season of the league was held in 2008, with eight teams competing for the title.

Rajasthan Royals emerged as the champions of the first season, with Shane Warne leading the team to victory.

Since then, the IPL has seen 15 seasons (the 16th season is going on), with Mumbai Indians holding the record for the most titles, having won the tournament a total of 5 times.

IPL Full Form

The IPL full form is “Indian Premier League.” The league was initially called the Indian Cricket League, but due to conflicts with the BCCI, the name was changed to the Indian Premier League.

IPL Teams and Owners

There are currently 10 teams in the IPL, each with its own unique history and fan following.

Team NameOwner(s)
Chennai Super KingsIndia Cements
Delhi CapitalsGMR Group and JSW Group
Kings XI PunjabPreity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, and Karan Paul
Kolkata Knight RidersShah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla, and Jay Mehta
Mumbai IndiansReliance Industries
Rajasthan RoyalsManoj Badale
Royal Challengers BangaloreUnited Spirits
Sunrisers HyderabadSun TV Network
Lucknow Super GiantsRPSG Group
Gujarat TitansCVC Capitals
👑Above is a list of the IPL teams and their owners.

IPL Format

The IPL format has evolved over the years, but the basic structure remains the same. Each team plays a total of 14 matches in the group stage.

  1. The league is played in a round-robin format, with each team playing against each other twice, once at home and once away.
  2. The top four teams at the end of the league stage qualify for the playoffs, which consist of two qualifiers, an eliminator, and a final.
  3. The top two teams from the league stage play against each other in the first qualifier, with the winner advancing to the final.
  4. The losing team gets another chance to reach the final by playing the winner of the eliminator, which is played between the third and fourth-placed teams.
  5. The winner of this match plays against the losing team from the first qualifier, with the winner of that match advancing to the final.

Rules of the IPL

The IPL has some unique rules that differentiate it from other cricket leagues.

Here are some of the key rules of the IPL:

  • Each team can have a maximum of four foreign players in their playing XI.
  • The powerplay consists of the first six overs of the innings, during which only two fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle.
  • The strategic timeout allows each team to take a break of two and a half minutes during the innings.
  • The free hit is awarded to the batsman when the bowler bowls a no-ball.
  • The Super Over is used to determine the winner in case of a tie in the playoffs.
  • The Impact Player is a new feature that has been introduced by the IPL for the 2023 season.

IPL Records

The IPL has seen some remarkable performances over the years, and several players and teams have set records that are unlikely to be broken anytime soon.

Here are some of the most notable IPL records:

  • Highest individual score: Chris Gayle (175* off 66 balls) for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors in 2013.
  • Most runs in a single IPL season: Virat Kohli (973 runs) for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2016.
  • Most wickets in a single IPL season: Dwayne Bravo (32 wickets) for Chennai Super Kings in 2013.
  • Most overall runs in the IPL: Virat Kohli (6903 runs).
  • Most overall wickets in the IPL: Dwayne Bravo (183 wickets).


Q 1: What is the full form of IPL?

A. IPL stands for Indian Premier League.

Q 2: What is the full form of the IPL logo?

A. The IPL logo does not have a full form. It is simply a combination of colours and shapes that represent the excitement and energy of the league.

Q 3: Who was the first wicket-taker in IPL?

A. The first wicket in IPL was taken by Praveen Kumar of Royal Challengers Bangalore, who dismissed Sourav Ganguly of Kolkata Knight Riders in the opening match of the inaugural IPL season in 2008.

Q 4: What is Fullform of CSK?

A. CSK stands for Chennai Super Kings.

Q 5: What is full-form LSG?

A. LSG stands for Lucknow Super Giants.

Q 6: What is full-form RCB?

A. RCB stands for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Q 7: What is SRH also known as?

A. SRH is also known as Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Q 8: What is the meaning of PBKS?

A. PBKS stands for Punjab Kings. The team was previously known as Kings XI Punjab, but the name was changed before the 2021 season.

Q 9: What is IPL TBD?

A. IPL TBD stands for Indian Premier League To Be Determined. It is used when the schedule for a match or event has not yet been finalized.

Q 10: What is the full form of T20?

A. T20 stands for Twenty20, a form of cricket that is played over 20 overs per team.


The IPL has become an integral part of the cricketing calendar, and its impact on the sport cannot be overstated.

The league has provided a platform for young and talented cricketers to showcase their skills and has attracted top players from around the world.

We hope that this comprehensive guide to the IPL full form and all you need to know about the league has been informative and helpful.

Thanks for reading!

Friends, you can also follow us on our below social media channels to get the updates first!

Sharing is Caring:

Welcome to rockNroll! I'm a passionate owner of entertainment & tech websites. Join me to explore Indian entertainment, music, movies, and tech. Let's rockNroll! :o)

Leave a comment